Nothing wrong in tying up with AIUDF, party not communal, says Assam Congress chief ahead of Assembly polls
February 15, 2021
BJP youth leader, arrested for cocaine possession in Kolkata, accuses party colleague of conspiracy
February 20, 2021
Show all

Assam Assembly election 2021, Silchar profile: BJP’s Dilip Kumar Paul had won landslide victory in 2016

Voters queue up outside a polling booth. ANI

Silchar constituency is located in Assam’s Cachar district.

It falls under the Silchar Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2016 Assembly election, the constituency had a total of 2,08,866 registered voters.

Voter turnout in previous election

The voter turnout in Silchar in the previous Assembly election was 74.97 percent.

Past election results and winners

In the 2016 Assembly election, the BJP’s Dilip Kumar Paul won the seat in a landslide. He had received 94,787 votes.

His closest rival, Congress’ Bithika Devi, was able to net only 54,867 votes.

In the 2011 Assembly election, the Congress’ Sushmita Dev had brushed aside a challenge from the BJP’s Rajdeep Roy.

Dev got 60,978 votes compared to Roy’s 45,127 votes.

The Silchar constituency is expected to go to polls in April or May 2021, as part of the 2021 Assam Assembly election.

The Assam Assembly polls will be held to elect a total of 126 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹499 for the first year. Use code PRO499. Limited period offer. *T&C apply

This latest news about BJP has been posted from here: Source Link

Facebook Comments